The historic walls of the hotel exude a unique flair and tell of the hotel's eventful history. The linen factory with its characteristic smokestack, founded by Otto Taussig in 1908 on the Gaudenzdorfer Gürtel, first manufactured valuable textiles and employed up to 300 people. After the factory closed in 1975, the empty building was purchased by the Wagner family in 1990 and was restored with a lot of dedication. In 1998, the restaurant "zur Fabrik" first opened its doors. In August 2009, 101 years after its founding, life finally returned to the old factory with the opening of the hotel.